Uncategorized

The Adventures Continue: Lao PDR

After staying in the city of Bangkok for about a month I, once again, had to hit the road. Luckily for me, just for a few days. I truly believe, that modern world has lots and lots of positive sides, but one really big drawback is impenetrable bureaucracy. Traveling nowadays is not like traveling 20 years ago (I can only imagine it though), so, I can assure you that you will spend a good deal of time in the embassies, consulates, etc. You know how it feels, right? Waking up at 6 am, getting your 3-digit queue number, spending the rest of the day just on snacks and Red Bull. This is the real spirit of traveling, not fancy “no limits” pictures. Like yeah, there are no limits once you have had all your paperwork done.

downloadThey say “Buy the ticket, take the ride”, you add “And check whether  you need visa or not”. Oh well, it’s a wild world. Anyway, I am not going to criticize the current situation for it works perfectly for me. I’ve just got my Thai student visa and so I have nothing to worry about for the next few months. The application process, although, is pretty rough: first, you’re most likely to be annoyed  by locals offering you help within first 5 minutes. And, believe me, they don’t care that you can fill the application yourself, they just want your bloody touristy money.

Here, in Laos, people are not that rich, or should I say “not rich at all”? Surprisingly for me, I haven’t seen any beggars on the streets yet, only kids approach you and ask for change from time to time. But the capital (Vientiane) itself looks pretty poor: old roads, rusty tuk-tuks (3-wheel taxis), small tents with food and drinks. Street food (comparing to Thailand) is not cheap at all, so I had to double my daily budget. One great thing about Laos are cheap bicycle rentals where you can get a city bike for just 1$ a day. Hard to believe, huh? Of course, bikes are old and rusty, but c’mon, it is just once buck!

I hate judging and rating something and I won’t. But my advice to all future Vientiane travelers is to stay no more than 2-3 days here for you will be just bored. Now, I find myself eating ice cream all day long (shipped from Thailand), drinking ice green tea with lemon and honey (from Thailand as well) and watching movies, And yes, finally I’ve found a time to pick a WordPress theme I like. I am leaving for Bangkok on Friday and by then I will treat you with a cute Bangkok adoration post.

LGBT backpack

Patouxai Monument

Patouxai Monument

DSC_3834

Standard

Leave a Reply

