Life

Bangkok, The City of Life

Before writing the post I tried to collect all notes and memories from the last 2 months in Bangkok, Thailand. My first exhausting day here. First padthai (Thai fried noodles). First ride on the river boat in Bangkok. First longboard ride.  Even though my life hasn’t changed that much, everything is so completely different and new here that it feels like everything is happening for the first time. I never thought I would trade my favorite club sandwiches for extremely spicy spring rolls and fried rice. But I did.

When I saw the city traffic for the first time, I though I would never be able to cross the road. Apparently, 3 weeks after I found myself on the longboard, crossing six-lane road, tacking between thousands of cars, scooters and tuk-tuks (Thai 3-wheel taxi). Surprisingly, none of the drivers were angry at me for slowing down the traffic, some of them even tried to give me a high-five and say few words of appreciation.

It is also fun to see how different the life is. Big shopping centers and skyscrapers leaning over slums and crowded China town neighborhoods. But nobody minds. White-collars buy food from the street. Beggars sit near the entrance of the newest shopping centers.

And it happens every day. Smiles from the strangers on the street. Random high-fives. I have stayed here for 2 months already, and for the first time in my life the city actually welcomes me. I had been living in bitchy Moscow for two years before I realized that I do not belong here. It took me less than a month to fall in love with Bangkok (and Thailand altogether). Bangkok is not only a heart of Asia, it is also a part of my own heart.

Next time I will tell about things to do and see in Bangkok. In the spare time you can check my impressions of Cuba, Colombia and Israel.

DSC_3875

Standard

2 thoughts on “Bangkok, The City of Life

  1. K says:

    I came across your blog through penpal world and I like the way you weave your words together to describe your day. Would you be interested in writing each other? I write too – here ohninesevennine.tumblr.com – and if my blog and I have piqued your interest in any way, please drop me a line.

    • Wow! Great to hear from you here! Of course, I am interested. And thank you!
      I have no idea, if I can send you a personal message here or not. But If you can write me an email it will be great!
      mine is: tantsurin(at)gmail.com

Leave a Reply

