Bike

How your day gets ruined

Okay, so before I start I have to confess: I wasn’t going to write this post. I wasn’t going to share a story of my shitty day with WordPress community, either. But then accidentally I realized that somebody else might have experienced something similar, so I decided to give it a try. It’s a story of coffee and the greatest expectations colliding with sad reality. Or maybe it’s just a regular complaint about my life. 

Today was a regular Sunday in Bangkok. I woke up late, watched a short film, fixed a light breakfast. Sounds perfect so far, doesn’t it? Then, at about 3 pm, I took my bike downstairs and hit the road, planning to spend the rest of the day in my new all-time-favorite coffee shop Bike Cafe. It didn’t take me long to notice the sign: “Sunday: 8:30 – 4:30” on the door. Four-fcking-thirty! On Sunday! Weekend! Well, without showing anger churning inside my stomach, I unlocked my bike and took a long ride to Li-bra-ry cafe, making my way through the Sunday traffic.

Li-bra-ry cafe is a seemingly nice place in Bangkok, Japanese-style coffee shop, packed with book shelves and local hipsters. And that’s where my day was totally ruined. To start with, I love coffee with hot milk separately. It’s just nice to add milk yourself, without asking waiter or barista. Well, not today. Not in Li-bra-ry cafe, where you have to pay extra for heating up the milk. Isn’t that ridiculous? Never mind, I got over it, found small table and was about to finish Karamazov Brothers by F.M. Dostoyevsky but…something was bothering me.

– Can I ask you for a glass of water, please, I asked.

– Only bottled water, was the reply.

That was a last drop for me. I almost rushed out, making my way through oblivious crowd . I’d opened the door a second before the idea about writing a ruining-my-day post occurred to me. And so I did. Even though my day was ruined and supposedly enjoyable time in the coffee shop was spoiled, I feel some kind of relief after writing and sharing this post with the whole world of coffee lovers and (maybe) coffee shop victims like me.

Standard

2 thoughts on “How your day gets ruined

Leave a Reply

